Why Blog?

The short answer is that I blog to explain the world to myself.

Having other people read my thoughts, comment on them, find them interesting and/or entertaining, discuss them with me, point out new implications that I hadn’t thought of on my own, present contrasting views, and correct my errors, are all possible, and quite welcome, benefits (possible because it isn’t really happening yet – and it may never happen) – but they aren’t the raison d’etre for the blog.

However, for the (very) long answer …

It seems that everyone and his or her dog has a blog these days. It also seems that everyone has different reasons for blogging; see “Why I blog” at Deepblog.com to see what I mean.

For me, however, blogging is a technological extension of something I’ve been doing since I was 13: scrawl in notebooks to clarify what I was thinking. I got the idea from reading Arthur C. Clarke’s Imperial Earth (ISBN 0-15-144233-9) where one of the secondary characters (Karl Helmer) uses a notebook to record his thoughts. Being 13, my scrawls and sketches lacked any form of systemization or internal structure; they were just stream-of-consciousness scrawling that helped to clarify my thoughts. They were totally illegible to anyone but me, and being a broody young teenager with strong ideas of privacy, that would have suited me fine if I ever considered the matter.

When I went to university I quickly realized that in “post class bull sessions”, explaining concepts and topics to friends that didn’t quite grasp an idea actually helped me enormously. In retrospect, this shouldn’t be surprising: marshaling facts into a structure that is coherent enough to articulate clearly and be readily understood by the listener means that I have to organize my thoughts more than I would have for my own use. Facts have to be fitted into the existing understood body of knowledge, examples found for introduced concepts, implications of the changes caused by fitting this new facts into the “big picture” tracked down, questions dealt with, etc. In the end, the “new facts” are blended seamlessly into the body of “preexisting knowledge”. I know that several of my classmates were thankful for my help, but I benefited from “helping them” as much as they did.

When I went back to school later in life (“Those who cannot remember the past are condemned to repeat it.”[1]) I deliberately set out to recreate what had been a happy accident many years before. Not only did I discuss things with my classmates, but I totally changed the way I studied for exams, and in the process probably convinced my neighbors that I was insane. In the days before major exams I would grab my textbook and carefully and systematically explain the material, out loud, to … nobody! I would deal with my own questions, doubts, and sideline issues like they had been posed by an external speaker, pace up and down the room, and even draw imaginary diagrams on the wall with a fingertip to illustrate certain concepts. You might consider this eccentric behavior, or worse – but it worked. It absolutely cemented the course material in my head, and even better, integrated it into what I already knew rather than committed it to rote memory.

That is really the core reason that I blog: to explain in a systematic and (at least semi) rigorous manner to an audience – real or not! – the ideas that I am putting into my head, and to articulate the ideas that come out of it, and thus to clarify those thoughts. This doesn’t mean this is going to be a blog about “lofty thoughts” (whatever those are); I’m as prone to ponder inanities and trivialities, or vent opinions, as the next person. I’m just trying to do so systematically

You, the reader, are most welcome here, however. People reading what I’m thinking, agreeing or disagreeing and saying so, pointing out contrasting views, mentioning implications I hadn’t thought of, and generally discussing topics we both find interesting is a most welcome occurrence. Please feel free to comment and discuss; this blog still functions if it is only a diary that I write in, but I have to admit it would be a much more rich and cheery place with your feedback.

Notes

1. – George Santayana [Wikipedia, The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy], from The Life of Reason, volume 1: Reason in Common Sense [Project Gutenberg, Amazon.ca]


Related Posts (internal links)

4 Responses to Why Blog?

  1. Beth says:

    AGOG! The phenomenon of explaining out loud to nobody at all must be genetic – I do the same thing! I did once admit to a friend that this is what I was doing – as she caught me having an argument with a non-exisitent person – and she smiled sagely and commented that it was ‘very Gestalt of me’… I’m glad I’m not alone! πŸ™‚

  2. Interesting πŸ™‚ We’ll have to ask and see if anyone else in the family does this.

    However, I suspect – although correct me if I’m wrong – that unlike what I describe here you tend to think linguistically. Mom does this as well, and that makes sense if you remember her penchant for, and ability with, language, as well as word games and puzzles – something you share.

    I on the other had think visually, so I’m more likely to be drawn to a Sudoku (all those neat interlocking lattice patterns) rather than a Crossword puzzle – although I seldom have the patience for abstract puzzles.

  3. wikipedia says:

    Wikipedia is the key to most success online, when it comes to collabritive content adding. I have spent many hours writing articles for Jimmy Wales and am very happy with this project. I am based in Seminole FL close to the wikipedia offices in St Petersburg. I love contributing!

    Happy New Year Bloggers!

  4. I would mostly agree. Wikipedia is a good place to work out objective and verifiable issues that have published sources and scholarly consensus. I’ve worked on Wikipedia, with my most significant contribution being the article on the Third Servile War.

    However, Wikipedia has limits for what I’d like to do: it doesn’t allow personal speculation, or opinion, which is what this blog lets me do πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

